Holy Matrimony! Michala Got Married!?

After 9 and a half years of dating, Andy and Michala (my best friend’s sister) finally got married! While this doesn’t really have to do with study abroad, it was still a really special occasion and if you need anymore convincing, the table I was seated at was named “Amsterdam” so there we go.

Originally, the invitation said the ceremony would be held outside at Wrigley Square in Millenium Park at 4pm so after getting dressed and having my mom speed drive me downtown (punctuality is not our family’s strong point) I arrived and felt ridiculously overdressed because there was no wedding set up and no one else dressed up for a wedding. Eventually I re-read a text Meredith (the bride’s sister/maid of honor) sent me that said the ceremony had been moved to where the reception is, and was starting at 5:30 now. This is why literacy and paying attention to details is important, children.

I met up with 3 of Andy’s friends, Mike, Kate, and Lily, who also did not get the memo/do not know how to read who were super nice and asked me to go wait with them at a nearby bar until the wedding started an hour and a half later.

cake

The ceremony took place at the Art Institute Ballroom and it was beautiful. I was given a reserved seat in the front row…wut?! This was funny because this was my first wedding and Eunice told me the only thing to remember about weddings is NEVER sit in the front row. I felt very out of place at first, sitting among the tall blondes that compose the Stock side of the family but then I thought if this is what Denmark will be like I better get used to it now haha.

frands

Oh haaay third wheel

The reception was a blast and a half. I was seated at Amsterdam with Michala’s college friends who were all so friendly and funny and extremely sassy and weird–I felt right at home, even though I was a 9th wheel. We were also dubbed “the party table” and raised quite a ruckus. Also, I only said something sassy enough to make Dan spit out his red wine onto the white tablecloth twice so I count that to be a success. We sang, ate cake, checked the score of the Hawks game religiously, Hava Nagila’d, and I ballroom danced with Papa Stock during a hip hop song.

andy

All in all, it was a fantastic night full of love and wine and happiness and chocolate and I’m so glad to be the adopted Asian daughter of the Stock family. Also, Chicago won so that means this marriage will be successful because we all know the fate of this union was resting on the results of the Hawks game!

Photobooth

Again, third wheelin’ like a champ

 

Leave a comment